Leilani Mitchell and five South Australians selected for Jayco Opals


Congratulations to MAC Adelaide Lightning player Leilani Mitchell, selected in the team to compete in the test event for the Rio Olympics in 2016.

We would also like to congratulate the five South Australian players who have also been named in the side and South Australian coach Scott Butler who will be the team Analyst.

Abby Bishop (Canberra Capitals), Cayla George (Townsville Fire), Tess Madgen (Melbourne Boomers), Erin Phillips (LA Sparks University) and Stephanie Talbot (Canberra Capitals) make up the five South Australians selected in the team of twelve for the Jayco Opals.

The Jayco Opals, which retains much of the squad that won the bronze medal at the 2014 World Championships, will contest the test event at the Carioca Arena at Barra Olympic Park, the arena where the Olympics finals will be held for Women’s Basketball.

It’s fantastic to have such a strong South Australian representation in the squad and we wish the team all the best in their games that kick off on 15 January 2016.

WNBL Corporate Partners

Adelaide Lightning Corporate Partners