Fans vote in All-Star Team

Melb boomers Nov 2015-1-17

The JCU Townsville Fire’s greatest ever team has been voted in by their fans.

As part of the club’s 15th anniversary celebrations, the Fire partnered with the Townsville Bulletin to name an All-Star Team leading into Heritage Round.

With 94 players vying for just 10 spots, the best of the best were named to the All-Star line-up headlined by championship-winning captain Rachael McCully.

The inspirational point guard, who retired last season after hositing the club’s maiden championship trophy aloft, secured more votes than any other player as shed edged out Wattle Valley WNBL All-Star Five member Jodie Datson.

Long-term running mate Tania Baxter won the nod at the shooting guard position narrowly ahead of Gina Stevens.

Four-time MVP Rohanee Cox was a fan favourite as the starting small forward, with reigning Rachael Sporn Medallist Mia Murray named as her back up.

The Fire’s Olympians, Claudia Brassard and Aneka Davis, were named as the team’s power forwards, while Suzy Batkovic and Jennifer Crouse filled out an impressive line-up.

15th Anniversary All-Star Team

Starting Five: Rachael McCully, Tania Baxter, Rohanee Cox, Claudia Brassard and Suzy Batkovic.

Back-up five: Jodie Datson, Gina Stevens, Mia Murray, Aneka Davis and Jennifer Crouse.

WNBL Corporate Partners

Townsville Fire Corporate Partners