Fire Crown Award Winners


JCU Townsville Fire captain Suzy Batkovic has secured the club’s highest individual accolade for a third straight season at tonight’s Jewellery By Design MVP.

Fresh off a fourth Wattle Valley WNBL MVP, there was no surprise as Batkovic secured her third club MVP, putting the finishing touches on another dominant season.

With the Fire celebrating back-to-back titles after defeating Perth at the weekend, Mia Murray retained the Players’ Player award for a consecutive season, while Darcee Garbin secured the Coach’s Award and the retiring Cherie Gallagher was a popular winner of the Denis Russell Commitment to Excellence Award.

The Fire also acknowledged the club’s immediate past Chair, Jayne Arlett, who announced that she would not be returning to the Board with a special presentation.

Earlier this week, Michelle Morton was elected as Chair of the Fire, with Glenys Schuntner confirmed as her Deputy Chair.

Ms Morton paid homage to tonight’s award winners and in particular Ms Arlett for her service to the club.

“Jayne was a driving force behind the resurrection of the Fire in 2011/12 and was instrumental in our first championship win,” Ms Morton said.

“She led the club with energy, poise and vigour and can take great satisfaction in our evolution. The Fire is a far cry away from where we were five seasons ago and Jayne can take a lot of credit for that.

“The 2015/16 WNBL season has been another remarkable season for the JCU townsville Fire and I congratulate each and every one of our award winners for their individual success and to the team for securing back-to-back titles.”

2015/16 JCU Townsville Fire Awards

Dennis Russell Commitment to Excellence Award – Cherie Gallagher
JCU Townsville Fire Coach’s Award – Darcee Garbin
JCU Townsville Fire Players’ Player Award – Mia Murray
JCU Townsville Fire MVP – Suzy Batkovic
JCU Townsville Fire Special Presentation – Jayne Arlett

WNBL Corporate Partners

Townsville Fire Corporate Partners